Representation of interests

All postdocs who are employed by FSU can elect representatives in the representative body of the university and in the staff council. Postdocs from the member institutions of the Graduate Academy also elect a representative for the council of the GA.

The group of postdocs is made up of academic employees, fellowship holders and leaders of junior researchers groups. There is currently not a special interest group for this.

Board of the Academy

The Board of the Academy decides on all fundamental matters concerning the GA and elects the Executive Committee. It is responsible for the admission of new members. The postdocs of the member institutions are represented as an own status group in the Board of the Academy and may advocate their interests there.

Consisting of representatives from all status and subject groups of the Graduate Academy, the Board depicts the interface between doctoral candidates and postdocs on the one hand as well as the scientific coordinators, the executive board and the executive committees on the other hand.

All status and subject groups of the member institutions are represented in the Board of the Academy. The allocation of seats is conducted according to the five selective groups:

  • Professors of natural sciences, mathematics and informatics (3 seats)
  • Professors of humanities and social sciences (3 seats)
  • Postdocs (1 seat)
  • Doctoral candidates of natural sciences, mathematics and informatics (2 seats)
  • Doctoral candidates of humanities and social sciences (1 seat)

Members of the GA's member institutions associated with the FSU elect the representatives of their respective voting group. The term of the professor's representatives amounts to three years, the term of the young researcher's representatives only a year.

The postdoctoral representatives are elected by the postdocs in the member institutions once per year. The elections for the Board of the Academy take place as an online election in the summer term each year. The electives are informed about the process of the election via e-mail and via mail. The election results and the composition of the Board of the Academy can be found here. You may receive further information from the elective office of the University Jena.

Staff council

Friedrich Schiller University's Staff Council is the interest representation for the employees and civil servants who work at FSU Jena. The Staff Council's fundamental responsibilities are defined by the Thuringian Law on Employee Representation. The Council provides assistance in all matters concerning the compliance with employee rights and employee protection. It takes on suggestions or complaints from members of staff, and it is its duty to insist that the employer take remedial action. Moreover, it has rights to be involved in certain decisions taken by the bodies of the University (participation and co-determination right). The Staff Council homepage provides answers to a number of frequently asked questions concerning work life, such as:

  • Seeing a doctor during your working hours
  • Change of income group
  • Is it true that you do not have to provide a doctor's certificate if you are only off sick for up to three days?
  • Right to strike in public services
  • Thuringian Higher Education Act
  • When does an accident that occurs on your way to work count as an occupational injury?

The Staff Council is elected every four years by the members of the University. The election is held as a ballot box vote. Eligible voters can cast their vote by post upon prior request. Eligible voters are informed by means of an announcement on notice boards. For more information, click here.

Elections of bodies of the University

Every doctoral candidate who is a member of the University is entitled to vote in the elections of the University's bodies, i.e., the Senate, the Faculty Councils and the Equal Opportunity Committee. Enrolled doctoral candidates are members of the group of student voters, and can elect four student members into the senate every four years, three to six student members to the Faculty Councils, and two members to the Equal Opportunity Committee. Doctoral candidates who are employed by FSU Jena are members of the academic employee group of voters, and elect their representatives in each of the bodies of the University every three years.

Votes in the elections can be cast online or by post. As a rule, all elections are held simultaneously at FSU Jena. For information on the current members of the Senate, click here. Further information is available from the University of Jena's Electoral Office.