Landesgraduiertenstipendien

The FSU annually awards scholarships, so called Landesgraduiertenstipendien, funded by the State of Thuringia. The funding period of these scholarships is three years, you can apply forr an extension for one year. Further extensions are possible: for child care, care for close relatives, in case of chronic diseases and disability. As of 2020, the scholarship is 1400,- EUR per month and (if applicable) extra payments for child care.

The Landesgraduiertenstipedien are announced once a year in summer. The scholarship is paid from the beginning of the following year. The number of scholarships granted varies from year to year - in recent years, it was about 10 -12 each year. From 2019 on, less scholarships may be given due to the extension of the funding period and the increase of the scholarship money.

Click here to view the announcement of 2020. The application deadline is 30 September 2020. Earliest start of funding is 1 January 2021. More general information, information on the legal framework and grant procedure is contained in the Thuringian Act on State Scholarships, the Thuringian Landesgraduiertenförderungsverordnung and in the Thuringian Higher Education Act (both in German).

How to apply

Applications are submitted online. Application deadline is 30 September 2020. Please add these documents to your online application (upload as pdf at the application website):

  1. CV (with photo)
  2. Exposé of your PhD project, containing the aims, their derivation and reasons, current research, methods, the schedule of your project and relevant literature (5-10 pages without the bibliogragpy), Arial 11pt, line pitch 1.5
  3. abstract of the written exam paper (if applicable) on 2 - 3 pages
  4. scan of your university degree (with transcripts)

Further parts of your application:

Links & Downloads

Assessment procedure

The assessment of candidates has two steps. Firstly, applications will be evaluated by the respective faculties. Depending on the faculty, an awards commission is appointed, independent assessments are requested or hearings are conducted. Then, the scholarships are awarded by a commission of the university senate. Members of this commission are the non-student members of the senate's research committee and the representative for equal opportunities. The awarding commission is headed by the Vice-President for young researchers and diversity management.

Frequently asked questions

How many scholarships will be awarded?
The number of scholarships granted varies from year to year - in recent years, it was about 10-12 each year. Each faculty can grant 1-2 scholarships.

What are my chances?
The number of applications varies from faculty to faculty. Based on experience, more applications are submitted for the social sciences and humanities than for the natural sciences. However, a small number of applications does not guarantee that you will receive a scholarship - the quality of the individual application is decisive.

What are the evaluation criteria?
The three essential criteria for scholarships are: excellent grades, a short study duration, and a high-quality exposé.

I have studied longer than the normal period. Is this a problem?
Carrying out your studies in a timely manner is a prerequisite for obtaining a Landesgraduierten-Stipendium. However, if you did study longer, you should clearly state the reasons for that (e.g. in your application, curriculum vitae, or an additional explanation).

I have applied before. Can I reapply?
It is possible to reapply. However, the new application - especially the exposé - should indicate the further development of your dissertation project.

Who decides on the allocation?
The allocation process involves a two-step assessment of the candidates. Firstly, applications will be evaluated by the respective faculties. Depending on the faculty, an awards commission is appointed, independent assessments are requested or hearings are conducted. For further information please contact your dean's office.
Then, the scholarships are awarded by a commission of the university senate. Members of this commission are the non-student members of the senate's committee for young researchers, the representative for equal opportunities and the diversity officer. The awarding commission is headed by the Vice-President for young researchers and diversity management.

Who can be a supervisor?
Appointed or habilitated faculty members of the University of Jena (e.g. professors, assistant professors, and associate professors) as well as the heads of junior research groups (e.g. Emmy Noether groups) may be supervisors. Simply having a doctoral degree is not enough to supervise a doctoral candidate.

What is a reference letter? Who can write one?
Reference letters should focus on your character and academic qualifications - your planned dissertation project is secondary. The person writing the letter should therefore know you personally and be able to assess your previous academic achievements. The letter can be submitted by someone from the University of Jena or another university.

I do not have a degree certificate yet. Can I apply anyway?
Yes, If you cannot provide your degree certificate until application deadline, you may submit a transcript of records and a confirmation by the reviewer about acceptance and rating (final mark) of your master thesis. Please note: The degree certificate must be submitted until the final meeting of the awarding commission, otherwise your application cannot be considered.

What should be included in the exposé?
The exposé should: describe the issue (including derivation and justification), the current state of research, the methodological implementation, and the planned timing. It should also cite any relevant literature.

What form should the exposé have?
The exposé should be 5-10 pages long (excluding bibliography). Please use 11-point Arial with 1.5-spaced lines.

I was not required to submit a thesis during my previous studies. What should I submit instead?
If your studies did not include a thesis, you can submit a summary of a seminar paper.

When will I find out if I get a scholarship?
You will receive a written notification in early december. Please do not enquire earlier than this.

When will the funding start?
The first scholarship payment will be made in January.

Is there any support for families?
Yes. Scholarship holders will receive since 2017 a monthly family allowance of € 300 for one dependent child and €150 for each additional dependent child.

Information for current scholarship-holders

Support of research stays abroad
To realise research projects in foreign countries, the DAAD supports scholarship holders with an additional fund. The funding includes an increase to your existing scholarship, a onetime travel grant, research and conference costs as well as insurance costs. You can also apply for other costs e.g. tuition fees. The funding can be granted for research stays abraod lasting at least 30 days up to 12 months. Applications must be submitted at least 8 weeks before the start of the stay abroad.
Further information (in German)

Annual progress report
Scholarship holders have to submit an annual progress report. This report shall give an overview of the contents and progress of work over time so far. It also has to include a project map and schedule for the entire doctoral project. Moreover, the supervisor has to submit a statement concerning this matter directly to Graduate Academy.
Content of the progress report and sample (as a docx)

Final report
At the end of the scholarship period, the holder must present a final report. If the scholarship runs out before the dissertation has been handed in, the supervisor must provide an opinion on the final report.
Content of the final report and sample

News

Landesgraduiertenstipendium

Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität vergibt jährlich Promotionsstipendien, die aus Mitteln des Freistaates Thüringen finanziert werden. Die Laufzeit beträgt 3 Jahre. Verlängerungen aufgrund der Betreuung von Kindern, Angehörigen sowie eigene schwerwiegende Erkrankung und Behinderung sind möglich. Die Höhe des Stipendiums beträgt monatlich 1.400 €. (plus ggf. Familienzuschläge).

Die Landesgraduiertenstipendien werden einmal jährlich im Herbst ausgeschrieben. Die Laufzeit des Stipendiums beginnt Anfang des folgenden Jahres. Die Anzahl der Stipendien variiert jährlich - in den letzten Jahren wurden pro Jahr etwa 10-12 Stipendien vergeben.

Hier finden Sie die aktuelle Ausschreibung. Bewerbungsschluss ist der 25. September 2019. Frühestmöglicher Beginn der Stipendienzahlung ist der 1. Januar 2020. Weitere Informationen und die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen der Vergabe finden Sie in der Thüringer Landesgraduiertenförderungsverordnung.

Wie kann ich mich bewerben?

Die Bewerbung erfolgt online, Bewerbungsschluss ist der 25. September 2019. Dem Online-Antrag sind folgende Dokumente beizufügen (Datei-Upload auf der Bewerbungsseite):

  1. tabellarischer Lebenslauf (mit Lichtbild),
  2. ein Exposé des Dissertationsvorhabens mit Ausführungen zur Fragestellung, deren Herleitung und Begründung, zum Stand der Forschung, zur methodischen Umsetzung, zum geplanten zeitlichen Ablauf mit Anführung einschlägiger Literatur (5-10 Seiten ohne Literaturverzeichnis, Arial 11pt, 1,5-zeilig),
  3. ein Resümee der schriftlichen Examensarbeit (soweit eine solche angefertigt wurde) auf zwei bis drei Seiten
  4. eine Kopie des Hochschulabschlusszeugnisses

Weitere Bestandteile der Bewerbung:

Links & Downloads

Wie erfolgt die Auswahl?

Die Begutachtung erfolgt zweistufig. Zunächst werden die Anträge durch die jeweiligen Fakultäten bewertet. Dafür werden je nach Fakultät Kommissionen eingesetzt, unabhängige Gutachten eingeholt oder Anhörungen durchgeführt. Die Vergabe selbst erfolgt danach durch die Vergabekommission des Senats. Sie setzt sich aus den nichtstudentischen Mitgliedern des Forschungsausschusses sowie der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten zusammen. Den Vorsitz hat der Vizepräsident für wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs und Gleichstellung.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Wieviele Stipendien werden vergeben?
Die Anzahl der Stipendien variiert jährlich. Pro Fakultät können 1-2 Stipendien vergeben werden. In den letzten Jahren wurden pro Jahr insgesamt etwa 10-12 Stipendien vergeben.

Wie hoch sind meine Chancen?
Die Anzahl der Bewerbungen variiert von Fakultät zu Fakultät. Erfahrungsgemäß gibt es in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zumeist höhere Bewerbungszahlen als in den Naturwissenschaften. Jedoch garantiert auch eine geringe Anzahl an Bewerbungen nicht den Erhalt eines Stipendiums - ausschlaggebend ist die Qualität der einzelnen Bewerbungen.

Was sind die Bewertungskriterien?
Die drei wesentlichen Kriterien für die Vergabe der Stipendien sind: Sehr gute Noten im Studium, eine kurze Studiendauer und eine hohe Qualität des Exposés.

Ich habe länger als die Regelstudienzeit studiert. Ist das ein Problem?
Ein zügig durchgeführtes Hochschulstudium ist eine Voraussetzung für den Erhalt eines Landesgraduierten-Stipendiums. Falls Sie jedoch länger studiert haben, wäre es wichtig, dass aus ihrem Antrag, ihrem Lebenslauf oder einer zusätzlichen Erläuterung die Gründe deutlich werden.

Ich habe mich schon einmal beworben. Kann ich mich noch einmal bewerben?
Eine erneute Bewerbung ist möglich. Allerdings sollte die neue Bewerbung, insbesondere das Exposé, eine Weiterentwicklung des Dissertationsvorhabens erkennen lassen.

Wer entscheidet über die Vergabe?
Die Begutachtung erfolgt zweistufig. Zunächst werden die Anträge durch die jeweiligen Fakultäten bewertet. Dafür werden je nach Fakultät Kommissionen eingesetzt, unabhängige Gutachten eingeholt oder Anhörungen durchgeführt. Weitergehende Informationen erhalten Sie im Dekanat Ihrer Fakultät.
Die Vergabe selbst erfolgt danach durch die Vergabekommission des Senats. Sie setzt sich aus den nichtstudentischen Mitgliedern des Forschungsausschusses sowie der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten zusammen. Den Vorsitz hat der Vizepräsident für wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs und Gleichstellung.

Wer kann ein Betreuer sein?
Betreuen dürfen die an der FSU Jena berufenen oder habilitierten Mitglieder der Fakultäten (Professoren und Professorinnen, Juniorprofessoren und Juniorprofessorinnen sowie Privatdozenten und Privatdozentinnen) sowie Leiterinnen und Leiter von Nachwuchsgruppen (z.B. Emmy-Noether-Gruppen). Ein Doktortitel reicht zur Betreuung einer Promotion nicht aus.

Was ist ein Referenzschreiben? Wer darf es ausstellen?
Im Referenzschreiben stehen ihre Person und ihre wissenschaftliche Qualifikation im Vordergrund -weniger ihr geplantes Dissertationsprojekt. Die Hochschullehrerin oder der Hochschullehrer sollte sie also persönlich kennen und ihre bisherigen wissenschaftlichen Leistungen einschätzen können. Das Schreiben kann von einer Hochschullehrerin oder einem Hochschullehrer der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena oder einer anderen Hochschule ausgestellt werden.

Ich habe noch kein Abschlusszeugnis, kann ich mich trotzdem bewerben?
Ja, bis zur Entscheidung über die Vergabe muss die Abschlussnote jedoch vorliegen. Bitte reichen Sie stattdessen eine Leistungsübersicht und eine Stellungnahme des Gutachters über die Annahme und Note der Abschlussarbeit ein.

Welchen Inhalt sollte das Exposé haben?
Das Exposé sollte Folgendes enthalten: Ausführungen zur Fragestellung, deren Herleitung und Begründung, zum Stand der Forschung, zur methodischen Umsetzung, zum geplanten zeitlichen Ablauf mit Anführung einschlägiger Literatur.

Welche Form sollte das Exposé haben?
Das Exposé sollte (ohne Literaturverzeichnis) 5-10 Seiten lang sein. Es sollte in der Schriftart Arial mit der Schriftgröße 11 verfasst sein und einen Zeilenabstand von 1,5 Zeilen haben.

In meinem Studium gibt es keine Abschlussarbeit, was soll ich stattdessen einreichen?
Wenn es in Ihrem Studium keine Abschlussarbeit gibt, dann können Sie auch das Resümee einer Hausarbeit einreichen.

Wann erfahre ich, ob ich das Stipendium erhalte?
Sie werden Anfang Dezember von uns schriftlich benachrichtigt. Bitte sehen Sie von vorherigen Nachfragen ab.

Wann startet die finanzielle Förderung?
Die erste Stipendienzahlung erfolgt im Januar.

Gibt es eine Förderung für Familien?
Ja. Die Geförderten erhalten monatlich einen Familienzuschlag in Höhe von 300 Euro für ein unterhaltspflichtiges Kind und 150 Euro für jedes weitere unterhaltspflichtige Kind.

Information für Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten

Förderung von Auslandsaufenthalten
Nach dem Landesgraduiertenfördergesetz fördert der DAAD Auslandsaufenthalte von Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten mit einer Dauer von 1 bis 12 Monaten, die zur Durchführung eines Arbeitsvorhabens genutzt werden. Die Förderung ist möglich in Form einer Aufstockung Ihres Stipendiums, eines einmaligen Reisekostenzuschusses, einer Pauschale für Forschungs- und Kongresskosten und ggf. anfallenden Studiengebühren. Die Anträge müssen spätestens 8 Wochen vor Beginn des Auslandsaufenthaltes eingereicht werden.
Hinweise zur Förderung von Auslandsaufenthalten

Jährlicher Zwischenbericht
Das Thüringer Landesgraduiertenstipendium wird jeweils für die Dauer von einem Jahr bewilligt. Vor der Entscheidung über eine Weiterbewilligung des Stipendiums muss der Stipendiat einen Bericht vorlegen. Dieser Bericht muss den inhaltlichen und zeitlichen Verlauf der bisherigen Arbeit verdeutlichen und einen Arbeits- und Zeitplan für den Abschluss des Vorhabens enthalten. Zu diesem Bericht muss der Betreuer des Vorhabens eine Stellungnahme abgeben.
Hinweise zur Gestaltung des Berichts und Musterbericht

Abschlussbericht
Am Ende der Förderung ist ein Abschlussbericht vorzulegen und eine Stellungnahme der Betreuerin bzw. des Betreuers. Letztere entfällt, wenn die Dissertation innerhalb der Förderzeit eingereicht wurde.
Hinweise zur Gestaltung des Abschlussberichts und Musterbericht

Aktuelles